Blonde China Head

Yesterday we stopped at Walmart and I wanted to get a small clip on fan for the next time we have to sit for the day and the truck heats up.  With the two cubbies, I thought I could clip one on one side and let the fan circulate that very hot air around.  Surprisingly, they had only 2 fans left, a big box fan and a small stand type fan.  I grabbed the smaller one, I have to be able to keep the resin girls cool.

 

The frustration is that I my husband is really concentrating hard on the logistics of our move and all that is involved.  So we go over it in detail and I am half excited and half depressed over it all.  The packing and moving part is okay, but the year in Hawaii is causing me a huge dose of separation anxiety over leaving all my dolls, my doll rooms, my sewing machine, the apartment, our things and living in someone else’s home.  I can only take what I can carry on the plane.  Whom do I take?  Evie was a challenge.  More?  Less?  No one?  Everyone?

 

So how do I de-stress?  I shop.  I have been on some sort of mad hunt for another doll, particularly a little wooden doll.  Which is nearly impossible and when I do find them, they are poorly crafted and I know they wouldn’t do.  I found one I bid on and was so excited about her, but was outbid in the last minute.  Then I think to myself, just carve one!

 

While I was searching, I came across a little figurine we had when I was a child.  I was always fond of her, and my mother had her for many years.  I sent the picture to her to ask if she still had it.  I remember ours had a pale blue nightgown and oatmeal coloured hair.

 

greenshot_2010-10-23_16-07-55

 

How funny then, today I find this girl right at the near end of her auction:

 

greenshot_2010-10-23_15-59-27 I wasn’t impressed with this photo, but the close up made me sit up and take notice…

greenshot_2010-10-23_15-59-52 The painting so delicate, so fawn like and soft.

 

greenshot_2010-10-23_16-00-14 But it was THIS photo that made me think of the little girl figurine and I had to have this doll.  She is 14 inches.  She is simply lovely.  I had two minutes left in the auction and quickly put in a bid and won.  Whew.  I thought I was going to lose, but finally after several losses….I have this charmer.  A nice companion to Charlotte I think.  Her name is Sarabonde.

One thought on “Blonde China Head

Leave a Reply

