Musing about Scottish Dress

Knitting is not going well.  I am on my second rip-it-all-up and start again round.

Perhaps I ought to crochet.  Hopefully I can find a hook.  I am still rather irritable that I cannot get the dolly and crafting stuff sorted without a dresser to put it all in.  So I do not know precisely where these things are in the storage closet.  Its all hindering my attempts to re-grasp it.  But I am not giving up.

In the meantime, I have been researching the scant archives of historical Scottish dress.  Not much to find.

b825c2bd952fbeea2b28f0f756325a3b I don’t want to keep Maris tied to any time period, so I have been collecting photo’s for ideas. This is the type of dress I envision her in. 

il_170x135.284480922 The colours are muted and the dress simple.  I envision wool in the winter and cotton in the summer.

e86c28ee4f214cc0dfee1726f446ba12 I also like the idea of the overlay of the corset and open skirt over the under dress rather than a one piece dress.  What I would do is keep the overlay simple and embroider the under dress more finely.  Eventually of course, a fine ball gown just in case the Queen invites her to tea.  I am concurrently reading Queen Victoria’s journal about her visits to Scotland and her love of the people and places here.  She often visited the people in the small villages.  So it would be possible that Maris would have tea with the Queen!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA           Notice how much fabric is gathered about the waist in this photo.  That is because the plaid was a large piece that could be untucked from the belt and put over the head or shoulders for warmth or protection from the rain. 

g0061100l  This, however would be too much fabric for Maris, I think.  Perhaps one day I will find a thin enough plaid to be able to give it a try.

65976bda91ef9b5dfd8a588438f25efa This too would require quite thin fabric for the drape.  I have a thistle brooch she can use, but I will also keep an eye out for a smaller one for her.  It was also used on a shawl type wrap around the shoulders.

Off to find a crochet hook. 

Leave a Reply

